A question to experienced authors/publishers

Rosemary Fryth

Hi all, have been absent from here a few days (deep in writing mode), however would like to ask a few questions to the regular and experienced authors/publishers here about online eBook sales.

My heroic epic fantasy trilogy has been up on Amazon three weeks now and so far I have recorded 371 sales (195 free downloads of book one, and 176 actual sales). Excluding that I'd had one borrow and no returns.

Would you consider that a decent start for an unknown book and author? The majority of the sales have been from Amazon.com, with a handful from Amazon.uk. I'm brand new to all this so have nothing to compare with.

The trilogy was written with the UK market in mind, yet oddly the biggest take-up has been from places other than UK/Europe. Does anyone have any hints about getting the trilogy known to readers in the UK?

Cheers!

I would say from a standing start, that's pretty damn good. Well done!:)

Have a look at Scarfy's thread. He is doing well on Amazon - see here

Those are very good numbers for sales (certainly better than I get), although I'm a bit surprised at the number of free downloads for a novel. How long was it free for? Maybe it's the number of other books going free at the moment (my novelettes went free around six months ago, and the first one had around 7,000 downloads in the first week, but I'm fairly certain that was just luck and timing (and getting mentioned on a site which listed new free Kindle books)). But those are very good sales numbers to start with.

And in just a few weeks, it's likely a number of the free downloads of the first book haven't been read yet, so you should hopefully see more sales to those who enjoy it.

Good luck.