To which case do I give the first letters of different race names?

The Neon Seal

Hello all!

*waves happily*

I am a writer of Science Fantasy and I was wondering which case I should use for the first letter of each species. For example, we often refer to ourselves as human, using a lower case. Would this be the same for fictitious races, and if not, should I refer to humans as 'Humans', given that the narrator himself is only part-human?

I'm going to be brave and attempt this before Judge comes along.

It would depend I would say.

For example, Irish and Arab people are clearly a distinct race, so capitals.
Being human is not a thing, so lower case.
'I will destroy all Humans.' - discussing a race of people, so I would use a capital letter - but not for being human.

Time to go, Judge will be along soon and I can't be seen playing with the adults.

We could split hairs all day, but you can probably use either as long as you're consistent.

Your courage is exemplary, Bowler. We'll have you sitting at the big boys' table any day now... :p

Hello and Welcome to the Chrons, TNS! Bowler1 has a penchant for RAY GUNS, so do be careful around him.

I would use capital letters for all other sentient races/species, and even human colonists from other planets/satellites if they referred to themselves by the planet/colony name eg Ganymedians. I'd still use lower case for humans, though, even when written from the perspective of non-humanoids or those of mixed race -- just as I'd use lower case for the words "people" and "persons" -- but a capital if the humans are referred to as Earthlings or Terrans.

So, either all races (sentient species) in uppercase or not, then?

I'd say so. It'd look better with upper case, although if the races are familiar to the characters (e.g. dwarves, orcs) it feels better in lower case. But consistency is best.