February Fantasy Suggestions

can't put " the chronicles" by cornelius in here, can I?:p

don't have suggestions myself, but I am going to follow this thread, the broadening of my horizon in mind...

cornelius said:
can't put " the chronicles" by cornelius in here, can I?:p

don't have suggestions myself, but I am going to follow this thread, the broadening of my horizon in mind...
I'm glad you said that. That is the primary reason for a book club - for us to branch out and read things we may not have gotten to otherwise. Find new author to love, explore new worlds, bravely go where...oops, sort of got off track there...you get the idea though :D

Im nominating Looking for Jake by Chine Mieville. Didnt get through last time, hopefully it will this time :D

I'm relatively new to fantasy - compared to you guys at least, so I don't have any suggestions, but I'm quite willing to read anything that's suggested to me. Broadening of horizons etc...

Here's a different one:

A Brother's Price by Wen Spencer
I can't paste in the text from Amazon or the link to the page. Y'all are smart enough to search it out, I'm sure!

I'd like to recommend Shapechangers by Jennifer Roberson. This is book 1 of the Chronicles of the Cheysuli series. Here's a short synopsis:

This is the first novel in a superb fantasy series about a race of warriors gifted with the ability to assume animal shapes at will. Once treasured allies to the King of Homana, they are now exiles. And Alix, daughter of an ill-fated union between Homana princess and Cheysuli warrior, must answer the call of magic in her blood, fulfilling an ancient prophecy.

We're concentrating on books that were published within the last year, Hosato.

Jennifer Roberson has a new series coming up, and the first one is scheduled for April. (I heard her read part of it at WorldCon when it was in San Jose, and it sounded really good.) Maybe we can make a push to read that one in the spring.

rune said: