What's the best way to market a sci-fi space opera as a new author?

Hey everyone,
I'm new here.

And I'm still learning the ropes of this forum, and this industry.

Can anyone give me pointers?

A belated Hello and Welcome to the Chrons!

I can't help at all with self-publishing, beyond suggesting you have a look in the other threads in this sub-forum, but with luck more knowledgeable members will be here soon to give help and advice.

Meanwhile, I know you've posted elsewhere, but do have a look at our Introductions sub-forum and perhaps start a thread there and tell us about yourself and what books you're reading/TV or films you're watching at the moment! https://www.sffchronicles.com/forum/introductions/

One friend of mine (already published) always jokes that if you want to market something, you have to imagine an existing bookshelf from a book store you know, imagine where your book would sit and what would be the comparison. If the store has a broad selection of, for example, Dan Abnett and David Weber, it probably means those are selling well, and so you can think what would a) make the reader of those assume your book would suite the tastes of an Abnett or Weber fan, and b) would there be enough separating you from them. When you have this comparison, imagine another suitable bookshelf, and son on. Once you have a good enough idea what kind of market you are aiming for, you can always find fans of those books and start a conversation on the internet for even more information.

Hey everyone,
I'm new here.

And I'm still learning the ropes of this forum, and this industry.

Can anyone give me pointers?

Well, now you're asking.