My 2000th Post Critique - Finally.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Moonbat

Chuckle Churner
It has been ages since I posted because of this 2000th post critique. In recent months I haven't had time to do any writing, and I've just not been motivated enough. I'm a cyclic writer in that I'll have periods where writing is all I want to do and other times when life gets in the way. Currently I have a 7 week old Daughter and she is taking up most of my time.
But I've got so annoyed at not being able to post anywhere but the lounge due to my post count I've just got to get something to be critiqued.

This is an extract from chapter 1 of my novel - Super Nova Sunset, as you can tell it is a silly sci-fi. I'm not entirely happy with it, I think there is a lot of 'and then this happened' 'and then he did this' going on, which doesn't seem to work too well, but I'd like some critique on everything from grammar to comedy and storytelling.

The train pulled into the station, actually that isn't entirely true, with a train that moves through a personally created black hole, it doesn't so much as pull into the station as pull the station around it. So the station was pulled around the train as they arrived in Diank. The man said his goodbyes to Nob and Nob genuinely wished him well and good luck with the negotiation (and with the city) then he settled back into his chair and waited.
After a few minutes, once all the normal passengers had disembarked, an announcement came over the airwaves.

“This is the final stop for the BF284. This train is due for recycling and will be destroyed in five minutes time. All passengers genuine or apathetically lazy skyvers must exit the train for their own safety. Any passengers remaining on board will be recycled.”