My 2000th post critique. Nobel's Dynamite part 1. (1351)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vertigo

Mad Mountain Man
Supporter
Well here it is my 2000th post! I was remiss on my 1000th post but was determined to put something together for this one. Sorry it's a bit long :eek: I just couldn't get it significantly shorter. I have posted it in two parts. Oh and my apologies for the slightly clunky writing - I'm not very experienced at this lark!

Nobel's Dynamite Part 1

The day I received the Nobel Prize was certainly the proudest day of my life. Of course it wasn’t really for my own work but rather that of Professor Howard Blake. However that hardly detracted from my pleasure as I accepted in his name. That pleasure wasn’t to last long. I think I now know how Alfred Nobel felt and maybe Oppenheimer too. How will I be remembered?

* * *​

“Who’s he?” I asked, indicating the slightly scruffy looking man sat hunched over some papers across from us. “Looks a little old for the Student’s Union.”

Jerry leant over for a better look. I always envied him his casual ability to recognise almost anyone on campus.

“Ah, Professor Blake. He’s tolerated down here as he’s not really like any other professors, more akin to us students in many ways. I’m surprised you haven’t come across him before; he’s in your physics department.”

“Blake… yeah, I’m sure I’ve heard the name. Does some weird research that he funds himself but doesn’t do any teaching?”

“That’s the one. I don’t think they trust him to teach, he’s chasing some wild idea that’s apparently going to turn quantum physics on its head. But he’s independently wealthy and I believe he made some remarkable discoveries early in his career before shooting off down his little blind alley, so I guess they tolerate him.”