Chapter 2 The Rune Writer

Status
Not open for further replies.

Damiynn

Fantasy Author
I am a fantasy author, who has traveled the world.
Chapter 2
Runes

All scribe slaves are taught to read at a very young age and Damiken had been an avid reader of the old legends. Reading mostly about the magics before the earthshake had separated the continents and raised the islands. One of the ancient rune writing books in Toros’s library had told how long ago magic was blended. Designs created by mixing inks, designs that caused different effects than what was originally intended. This type of magic had faded away on the islands because the islanders believed it unstable and preferred to rely on the more practical use of regular runes. Only a few people here even knew how to create the blended runes.

For the past seven years he had been studying everything he could about the lost art and had finally figured out how to write blended runes that would do what he wanted, sometimes. He intended on taking these scrolls to Sororia and in exchange for their worth, he would find a rune wizard willing to take him on as an apprentice. One who could teach him how to finish developing his own magical abilities.

The eastern setting sun turned blood red, lighting the ocean sky in vivid shades of oranges, purples and pinks as he thought about what he wanted to do. Both of Asadera’s moons began climbing up into the coming night sky. Once Laure, the sailor’s moon was bright gold and Urel, its twin, was a deep shade of blood red, he knew it was time to meet with the thief master.

Placing the specialty rune sheets back into their sheath and back into their hiding place, Damiken gathered up the normal ones and headed back across the tiled rooftops, moving towards the docks.