Short, Chapter 7 Rune Writer

Status
Not open for further replies.

Damiynn

Fantasy Author
I am a fantasy author, who has traveled the world.
With a contemptuous step to her walk, Iandra led the way out onto the sawdust cirle. The serving maid followed closely, hurling insults at her backside, and some even about her backside. Without acknowledging her scathing comments Iandra rounded on her heel and faced her opponent. A haughty arrogant cast marked her face and her eyes held a blatant look of derision.

Holding out empty hands in front of her, palms up, Iandra raised one eyebrow coolly. The maid met her look with a hiss and looked about at the crowd as if seeking their advice.

Damiken followed her eyes as they searched the crowd and saw the slight nod come from one of the patrons, if he hadn’t been looking at the man who had fought earlier he would have missed it, so imperceptible was it.

A cruel look filled the serving maid’s face and eyes as she finally turned facing Iandra once again. She too held out her palms, both facing downward.

Damiken saw her gesture and felt a river of fear flow through him, he knew what her palms meant, he had heard of such competitions, even as a slave.

In a loud voice he shouted, “No!”

The royal princess of Sororia’s head turned toward him. Her level gaze had such an intense look in it that he took a few steps back as if pushed. Without saying anything, she returned her eyes to the woman and turned her hands palms down, accepting.

As fast as a cat extending its claws, daggers appeared in both of the maid’s hands and she leapt at Iandra, blades stabbing forward like a snakes tongue.

Damiken didn’t understand why Iandra had turned her hands downward indicating that she would allow weapons when he knew she didn’t have any. He got his answer a moment later.

The serving maid charged straight forward, both daggers stabbing straight out in a blur. She was quick and her blades moved fast, but she wasn’t quick enough.