At The Mountains Of Madness

Marky Lazer

Is it just me, or is that story dull? I'm half in the story and it reads like a scientific story. On the book's cover it says Stories of Terror, but I so far it's dull as snow...

Any hardcore HPL fans got put off by this story?

I'm relatively new to Lovecraft, but I think this story is longer than it needs to be. I actually read this story years ago, but I recently reread it.

***SPOILER***

When they come upon the camp that has been devastated, it seems like the story might start to get revved up, but all that mapping and description of the ancient city was way overlong. AND I had a hard time discerning how he could ascertain such a complex understanding of their history through pictorgraphs.

I think the story was all right, but it could easily have been half the length. Like a lot of Lovecraft, it's more about setting a mood than about shocking thriller action. Or any action, for that matter. I have enjoyed the shorter stories more, though I find that he really projects his surprise endings.

At the Mountains of Madness, in the Den of Dementia, lives a shrew called Albert. Often he paddles in the Sea of Psychosis, and runs through the Fields of Fear. He's a happy shrew.

I also have to add that this is my first ever go at HPL (due to our friendly neighbor Mr Moddigton), and I have to say, I might never have a go at any of his other work...

Maybe the other stories in the collection will change my mind, though.

The Mountains Of Madness is very much like the rest of the Old Gent's work. It's atmospheric and it's almost like building a whole landscape and describing all the details. His work is not blatantly shocking. The horror tends to creep under your skin very slowly but very effectively.

I'd give his shorter pieces a try Marky. The first one of his I read was The Cats Of Ulthar and that is still one of my favourites.
:p