Dragon's Eye

Damiynn

Fantasy Author
I am a fantasy author, who has traveled the world.
Chapter 1
‘In service to all.’
I pushed the half-empty bottle of bourbon across the table and away from me and looked at it through blurry red eyes. Leaning back in my chair, I shifted my stare, apprehensively towards the redstone medallion lying next to the bottle.

I had seen them, they had been there. The damn golden words had been there. They had flashed across the stone’s face like some sort of glowing inscription.

Groaning, I buried my face in my hands as both the bottle and the stone turned into two objects. I waited until the blurriness faded, and they merged back into single objects. I wasn’t having a hallucination from the hangover. They had been there, glowing on the stone’s face.

Blood pounded temples like a jackhammer. I felt every shot I had drank after I had seen them, hoping the whiskey would’ve helped me remember some of the forgotten stories my father had told me as a child about the stone and himself.

Stories I had tried forgetting, leftover memories from a troubled childhood. Stories about how we were supposed to be men of importance.

Slowly I pulled at a fragment of memory, a thread-bare thing about the glowing words. The words were… My thoughts trailed off again in a swirl of drunkenness. Then it hit me. My world spun, this time in a different dizzying circle of upside-down realities as what my father had told me long ago came back into my head.

The words, they are a summoning, and it is your responsibility to answer it.

The whiskey was still making my thoughts hazy, but the long-forgotten memory cut through my consciousness like a white-hot knife, burning away the haze.

I remembered my father making me poke my finger with a needle as a child. He had made me rub a drop of my blood onto the medallion’s red stone face. I had sworn vows that had included the words I had seen glowing on the stone’s surface. ‘In service to all.’