POV: Third Person Limited vs Omniscient

Brian G Turner

Fantasist & Futurist
Staff member
Supporter
Something that really surprises me is how many writers on chronicles are using a third-person omniscient POV.

This is specifically because any recent books I've read are written in third person limited - with only "classic" books tending towards omniscient POV's.

Just to kick up a bag of worms, my thinking goes like this on omniscient writers:

1. They think they are writing a film, so focus on writing grand cinematic scenes;

2. They lack confidence with a deep third person limited POV, so current use of omniscient is simply a stage in rewriting to limited;

3. They read classic literature from at least 30 years ago, when omniscient POV's only just started their declining trend.

Obviously I'm not a publishing expert and in the same boat as everyone else. However, I thought it was a given that third person limited is what modern sff markets demanded. That's why I'm consistently surprised when I keep seeing omniscient POV's come up.

Or am I simply being a wannabe publishing nazi, getting lots of silly ideas in my head on what constitutes the needs of modern sff writing? :)

Omniscient is artsier. It allows for a grander more sweeping style and more narrative voice. I'm sure that appeals to people trying to sound more dignified than what is currently popular. Nothing wrong with expanding on what is there(as long as you stay in past tense)

That said, limited point of view offers more tools for drawing interest. I personally hate omniscient in anything not The Hobbit. I find pretentious sounding.

IB, could it also be that

4) There can be a fine dusty hard-to-see chalk line between limited and omniscient that in the heat of forging prose, wordsmiths all too often blunder across the line and become omniscient.