Third Person Limited: critique some sentences.

shamguy4

I usually feel I am a good writer and never question my ability to write from third person limited, but lately I am wondering if I have been pushing it.

Here are two examples and I want to know if you feel they are ok to use. Shamguy4 is suppose to be the point of view.

It was obvious the date was going horribly, and it only seemed to get worse. Shamguy4 searched for words as Jane pushed her vanilla ice cream away and stared everywhere but in his direction.
"So you don't lik ice cream?" he asked.
"Oh I do!" Jane answered, in what she clearly thought was a winning voice. Shamguy4 just smiled back weakly.

Here we can see what she thought clearly. I think it's still in Shamguy4's head but what do you think?

Now we can try to push it further:
"So… you don't like vanilla then?" Shamguy4 nodded toward the vanilla ice cream at her side which was pretty full and uneaten.
"Well…" Jane thought hard, "I guess I am a chocolate person."
"So why did you get vanilla?" The words fell out of his mouth before he could stop himself. At this point the only thing he would be taking home tonight was the extra vanilla ice cream, which shamguy4, and his taste buds, felt was perfectly fine.

Here Jane thinks hard. Now Jane is obviously a moron! (Who doesn't like vanilla ice cream?!!!?)
But does this go against the third person limited. Here I let Jane think hard. However I have her speak. We never go into her mind.

So what do you think?

Hm. This is a tricky one.

I'd say (no expert) that writing "Jane thought," it puts the reader in her head and would make the viewpoint seem more distant. If you were to write something like "Jane paused, frowning." 'I guess... I am a chocolate person.' (Really rough example, sorry.) But I would imagine in close third the viewpoint character would note another persons physical reactions and behaviour rather than mention they are thinking.

Still its a slim line.