One page Query letter, Critque and help welcome.

Status
Not open for further replies.

SpTokun

A few Notes before you read if you will:

I would like you to be honest on your opinions and really do appreciate any who is willing to read this. KEEP IN MIND, I have wrote this as a sales pitch (as that is the general consensus of a Query letter if I am not mistaken) and do not wish to offend anyone.

If you write and you have Elves/Thieves or anything of that matter it is not a dis to you in any way. I am trying to make my point, I hope not to say anything in it that reflects on anyone else's writing :).

On another note, I am completely new to writing query letters so honest critique would be a boon. Thank you very much, I appreciate your time in reading this. Also please keep in mind this prints out to 1 full page, I am thinking that may be too much, though if that is all the Agent requests, is this good?

Dear (Agent)

I am seeking representation for my three-part fantasy adventure novel, “Pathway's of a Hero,” book one subtitled “Facing Corruption.” I have finished writing and editing the first book and I am currently working on the sequel.

I believe a story should have elements that make it unique, with a good strong plot, and also a nice side of mystery, adventure and heroism never hurts. Though, in fantasy, I have noticed that some things are rarely explained. For instance, “What makes magic work and what different ways are there to use it?” This part of my work takes readers on the inner workings of magic. There is also a whole new way, within this story, in which magic is applied in a more “physical” sense.