Bebeker rides home

Far Stranger

Hi all, here’s 725 words from a huge work I am having so much fun writing. I am new to this; no one’s read anything I’ve written before (except the 75 word challenges!) but someone needs to soon, while I still have a chance at stopping terrible habits from forming. I would very much appreciate your expertise and your deep knowledge of SFF in offering any type of critique. The idea of hitting POST THREAD is causing me genuine nausea, but here we go. Thank you in advance.

The airship moved home across the nineveh’s bright skies, rumbling bulwark of chrome. Stale blood remained a dominant scent, King Bebeker noted. He was pressed against the reeking fur of his wagraves, swinging gently in the giant pendulum basket of wicker and iron suspended from the ship’s prow. Daylight so pure was likely damaging the lingering meat-scraps he called his body, and for this reason five of his personal guard, the King’s Skin, surrounded him, their dark mass absorbing the direct onslaught of the rays. But by gods, he would have some sun warm him today. And she would do it graciously as the most talented whore, as if the task delighted her.

From inside his breast pocket came once again the muffled cheep of the tiny robotic bird he hated. He ignored it. Darklake news could only spoil the exhilaration of conquest and space travel, just like the old days. Let Darklake news wait until the morrow.