Realistic Engineering?

How realistic? Probably Andy Weir has some of the best descriptions of actual practical engineering I've encountered. Stephen Baxter, Arthur C Clarke and their like are very good with the physics, but they tend to go for huge physics 'concepts' and be less interested in the detailed engineering. Weir will go into things like what the filler is between the inner and outer hulls of lunar bases, what the mix of atmospheric gasses is, etc, and makes them plots points.

"I'm looking for Science fiction with realistic descriptions like it was written by an engineer".

Oh, Dear God. I'm an Engineer. I promise you, you don't want to read anything written by me.

On the other hand, Robert Heinlein was a Mechanical Engineer, and he did good stuff.

So did Sprague DeCamp.

Weir lost me with his total misrepresentation of the properties of the Martian atmosphere.

From the 'old school' shelf Arthur C. Clarke is pretty robust on science and realistic possibilities.
I haven't completely written off his "elevator to space" either, That is mainly a materials issue.

Realistic engineering in science fiction? I haven't seen much in the way of engineering in science fiction being published lately. It's as if it is being pushed out of the publishing markets.

The serious worry I have I that there is a humungous amount of new technology being discovered and invented these days, which is not being pulled through into the genre. A lot of what is left of realistic technological science fiction these days is being extrapolated from old technology and not from the newer inventions. This has all sorts of detrimental implications, which if I started on them, would make this post sound like a rant (even if it is justified).

As for Mars - I personally think authors have missed a significant trick in how to terraform the planet. It makes a massive difference in how to go about it.

Weir lost me with his total misrepresentation of the properties of the Martian atmosphere.