Unrequited Wings

reiver33

Only Forward
Supporter
I entered the current NYC Midnight writing challenge, but failed to progress past the first round. You recieve an assignment and have 24 hours, and 500 words, to come up with a short story that satisfies the 3 specied elements. Mine were:

Fairy tale or fantasy, floating, overcoat.

I'm posting my entry, plus the required 1 or 2 line synopsis, to see what you think ahead of the judges feedback.

Above Flanders fields a World War One pilot faces death, only to encounter an unexpected ally.

My Sopwith was dying. A funeral shroud streamed from its bullet-ridden engine, smoke and spray reducing my flying goggles to a smear. I was a good pilot, talented, but the port wing strut was one turn away from failure.

Time to go.

My squadron had not issued parachutes as – apparently - they encouraged pilots to abandon damaged but still viable aircraft. So much for parsimony. I unbuckled, heaved my body up, kicked away from the edge of the cockpit.

Tore off my useless goggles, gave myself to the sky.

For a moment my overcoat billowed, holding me up like a leaf on the wind. The surrounding battle returned – the whine of aero engines, chatter of machine guns – but it was no longer real, immediate. Cloud whipped around me, drawing a curtain on the world, and then…

Stillness.

No sense of falling, of air rushing past. My coat remained inflated, as stiff as starch. The cloud drew back such that I was left inside a milky-white shell. An illusion, but one I prayed would last as long as possible. Maybe all the way to the ground.

The bottom button on my overcoat burst free and hung there, tumbling end-over-end.

Music. Four notes, as from a glockenspiel but softer- a celesta. Repeated, followed by a woodwind growl.

“You silly ass!”

A girl’s voice; light, trilling. I turned towards the sound, in mid-air, as easily as standing on firm ground.

The second bottom button on my overcoat burst free and hung there, tumbling end-over-end.