Body Snatchers x NASA shuttle mission x Biosphere

msstice

200 words a day = 1 novel/year
Supporter
Bear with me: I just vividly dreamed this yesterday. I'm writing down as much as I can remember in a way that makes the most sense. You don't really have to critique this - it's not even a draft. The whole thing had a distinct 1960s Sci-Fi B-movie flick vibe. I wonder if someone recalls a movie/story like this.

I'm a scientist at some facility that's basically a Space Shuttle launch pad. We have a giant water tank like structure just below the blast pad. The water tank is some kind of experiment, and it has living things in it that are very important. I don't know why they are important. We are told that the launch schedule for the space shuttle has been advanced so that it will take off only in a few minutes. The rocket exhaust from the take-off will feed the water tank and replenish something inside it, so it's good. Somehow I realize that part of the facility has been taken over by aliens, and the aliens have moved up the launch schedule and are manning the shuttle and the launch is definitely going to be bad. I'm rushing around trying to convince everyone that the aliens are here and we need to evacuate the level and get the army in here. The aliens start advancing on us. I get a few people out of the area.