How many Protagonists (or are they)?

Omits

I understand Sci-Fi does have more than one of these (can't think of any examples offhand). In my novel I have a main character, of course and 'in charge', but there are others who have an individual life line through the novel e.g. his friend, three Androids who work alonside (one who is 'attached' to him), a few Aliens and even a sentient AI community (Spaceship apps if you like). What's the line between these being 'other characters' and them turning into protagonists? Btw, I'm a novice at writing so researching all the mechanisms for writing and subjectwise. Thanks.

I understand Sci-Fi does have more than one of these (can't think of any examples offhand). In my novel I have a main character, of course and 'in charge', but there are others who have an individual life line through the novel e.g. his friend, three Androids who work alonside (one who is 'attached' to him), a few Aliens and even a sentient AI community (Spaceship apps if you like). What's the line between these being 'other characters' and them turning into protagonists? Btw, I'm a novice at writing so researching all the mechanisms for writing and subjectwise. Thanks.
I don't think there is a line, as such. I have one world with a lot of characters in it, which ended up with a three way narrative of equal length, but the protagonist was still the person that the story revolved around. That's usually how I decide it: where is the focus of the overarching story, and who owns the resolution of it? Once I work that out, that tells me who the protagonist is. The others, then, can become as big as they like, and as in depth as they like, but their story will always be a side arc to the main one I've identified.

I do think the more rounded secondary characters are, the more depth in the story, so I wouldn't hold back in developing them. But, of course, your main character needs to be at least as well developed and, normally, more so.