The discovery process strikes again...

Phyrebrat

www.beanwriting.com
Supporter
I’d normally put this in a blog but ...

There’s an equal balance of planners/plotters and discovery writers on Chrons, and then there are a lot of us who are a miscegenation of both.

One of the (many) reasons my wip has been taking me so long (other than learning about the craft itself) is because i discovery-write and this has led to situations where I steam along them months or years later realise a fundamental improvement or problem and must rejig or even restart.

This morning, as I was writing I realised that two of my characters should actually be the same. (Sigh).

It doesn’t mean a massive rewrite of the 130k but 69k of it will.

I often wonder if the motivation to write comes from different places for the two different types of creatives.

Do plotters have a different ignition to discovery writers? I’m a teacher (dance) and find that process in education is far more valuable with challenging behaviour and learning than product. Even so we’re measuring success by product.

How do you view your process? You can’t divorce process as you’re constantly learning from your mistakes and successes.

Are different mental processes and subconscious outcomes at play in the two differing processes?

pH

In recent years I’ve realised that what works best for me is to immerse myself without distractions for as long as possible when writing a first draft; this allows me to concentrate on the novel alone. I live it and nothing else for those days. The winter holiday is perfect – I can do fifteen chapters of twenty in that time (taking a day off to see my family on Christmas Day). After a while I return to manuscripts written like this to do editing, polishing, etc.