Hanging Tree

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mangara

Hello.

I'm just playing about with an idea in my head. I'm pretty new to this writing business so if this is terrible I apologise.

Thanks for looking :)

This was my sister’s tree until she was taken from us. She used to snuggle down into these roots like arms and laze away the summer. She didn’t know that I used to follow her here and watch her talk to the woods around her. From her I learnt so much; the location of north from the moss on the trees, the alarm call of the birds that heralded approaching danger, she was one with this place.

As I look up I can still see her final resting place, the frayed rope fragments still clinging on to the knot of wood where Connie bid the world goodbye. I was the first to find her; the minute she was missing I knew exactly where to look. This was her sanctuary from the anger of things beyond our control, of a parent who could not contain his rage and took to using his fists to release it.

As I begin to climb it all comes back to me.

It started with mother, the pink purple bruise below one eye that appeared one day. I was too young at the time to notice her petty excuses, the number of accidents never seeming odd to my juvenile mind.

Next was Connie, who suffered at the hands of puberty immensely, the hormones possessing her, manipulating her and empowering her. She began to stand up to father, to resist his control, to seek independence. Father responded as he only knew how; with force.

Connie was broken, the fight leaking out of her numerous lacerations and bruises. She lost all contact with the outside world as father weaved a web of lies to cover his tracks. We were removed from school and locked in our rooms. Connie and I devised a knocking language to communicate through the thin plasterboard walls.

One day the knocking stopped.