King's the Stand: Thesis material?

Syphon of Oor-Tael

is going fishing
Hello again folks!

After a long hiatus, I've come back to seek your help.

I am doing a master's thesis to become a Master of the Arts in English, and after several abortive attempts I have decided to try and turn The Stand into my focus.

The question for you is:

Are there versions of the Stand with radical enough differences for me to warrant comparing them for my thesis? I'm not talking about a change on the level of "In abridged Stu does A, and in unabridged, he does B", but rather changes along the lines of Lord of The Rings, where Aragorn was first a hobbit called Trotter.

I'm looking for changes in character, motivation, etc.

Could you please help me? :)

I don't know an answer for definite, but I doubt it. Stephen King doesn't plan his novels like Tolkien did; he sits down and lets the story flow out. He often releases 2-4 novels a year- The Stand (which of course is not a small book) came out a few months after his short story collection Night Shift, and he churned out The Long Walk and The Dead Zone not even a full year later-, so he probably isn't in the time-consuming business of writing a story then making sweeping changes to it.

Basically, the first draft probably closely resembles the final edition.

I've read both, and I'd have to differ.

The two versions are different, particularly around one character, The Kid, and I think, for a dissertation, you'd need to read both. It's not a change of motivation, as such, but a deeper understanding of the characters. Failing reading both, I'd go with King's preferred, longer, version, although the shorter (ha!) edited version is the tighter read, the unabridged version definitely adds stuff not shown in the other.

It's not to do with King rewriting a new book but that the first version was savagely cut by editorial (no wonder, given the length). I'm not saying the longer book is better, but it is the closer version to King's vision.