wriiting technique advice

john11

Hi and thanks for reading this post.

I am an amateur writer at best and have not done any writing courses, but would like to learn.
In an effort to increase my knowledge i went to my local lending library and read each and every book on creative writing, approximately 30 books in total which took about six months.
Armed with this new knowledge i wrote a few short stories - which have been universally mocked and laughed at.
I feel really down, and can't figure out what i am doing wrong, after taking some much "expert advice" from books written by people with university degrees i have not improved at all.

Q1: I don't want to take a few years out to do a in-depth writing course, but is this the only option?
Q2: Are there any books i should be looking at.

Many thanks in advance. John.

Lots of books, lots of options, don't be down. Short stories are NOT easy to write. Try the 75 and 300 wd. challenges in here and you will improve by doing and by observing what others do.
Try writing and then rewriting instead of reAding 30 more books about writing.

In my opinion, you can't learn how to write just from reading those bloody 'how to' books. You need to actually write. Practise. Practise. Practise. Also, I tend to think you need a smidgen of natural talent in the first place. If you can tell a good story, you can learn to write one. Don't rush. Read books - fiction books - and write.

Quick reply, as I'm meant to be doing other things, not related to the internet. :eek:

I'm with Mouse on this. You can't learn how to write from a book. You an learn the basic rules, but it's like learning to drive - you only really learn once you start driving around. The lessons were to teach your way around the controls and how to get through your test.