chapter + Novel Lengths

MattJDrumm

Hi all,
I'm fairly new to this writing game and found this site while searching for advice, I have seen you guys help each other out a lot so I'm hoping I can get some of that help and advice - I started a novel several times over the years but it always got put on the backburner and ultimately vanished completely, recently I got inspired to write again so I started and I'm now determined to finish the book and the sequels (It's planned as a trilogy) but I just had a few quick questions about the length of the chapters and the novel itself.

Much of my research has led to the "whatever suits you" approach but I'm just wondering if people who actually have experience can give me advice - Most of my chapters so far are in the neighbourhood of 2,500 words (Based on the idea that 250 words equals 1 page) and I'm aiming for 80,000-90,000 words which is what I think is the "minimum" length for any good fantasy novel (At least the ones I've read)l, I've read many over the years and while I did enjoy the long ones and some really long ones I think personally the shorter ones were easier to read, One thing I always hated was finding myself stuck halfway through a really long chapter and having to leave it for some reason - Basically I always enjoyed reading chapter to chapter if that makes sense.

So what do you guys think is best - Is there a "minimum" or "maximum" chapter or novel length for this genre, Is it best simply to go with the "whatever suits you" method?

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Matt

Chapters really can be any length that works. The length of your chapters is a little shorter than the average, but there is nothing wrong with that if the divisions make sense.