E-Publishing Image Question

DaveWallace

I thought about putting this in the other image thread, but it's a substantially different topic IMO, so here it is:

I'm not an artist, so I need to get someone else to do my Amazon catalog/cover image for me, (I can at least convert a color image to GS in Gimp, so I've got that covered). Which for me means commissioning an artist to do the cover.

The question is whether I have to also buy the copyright for the image from the artist to use it in as a cover/catalog image on Amazon and other E-pub places? I'm kind of thinking yes, but I don't know.

I figure they own that copyright even if it depicts my own original characters at what I envision to be some substantial direction on my part. And my thinking is that since I'm using it to help generate income, that they would need to assign the copyright to me, for some compensation.

Am I right on this? Anyone with any experience with this, or any legal knowledge of the situation?

My understanding is that they would license you to use it on a limited basis (as cover art, and in promoting your book) but copyright and ownership of the artwork would remain with the artist.

I've just gone through this myself, and as a former TV producer I have a sketchy legal knowledge of rights.