Chapter length consistency

JNG01

I'm interested in thoughts on the importance (or lack of importance) with chapter length consistency. I've read books where the chapters beat like a metronome, and others where the length was seemingly random. I'm in the middle--there's broad variation, but not crazy.

Is this a thing that matters to you as a reader? What are the advantages of the different approaches?

I'm not a fan of really short (<500 words) or really long (>5000 words) chapters, but within that range I don't care. I'd much rather a chapter feels like a chapter than artificially be the same length as the others.

I'm of the opinion that the story sort of dictates the chapter length and that as a writer I should be worried less about the length of chapters in comparison to each other and more about how the length of the chapter works to tell the story. I think that chapter length, if they're written well, sort of fades into the background. As a reader I've torn through chapters that were twenty-plus pages long, and slogged through six page chapters. As a writer, if a chapter feels long it likely means I should probably cut or rework some of it as parts of it aren't working and making it feel like an artificial slog.

I feel that most often short chapters are used for punchy scenes that are in and out then move on to the next thing quickly, while with long chapters the author is often framing it as a short story within the novel itself, with its own rise and fall and resolution. Again, I think that when done well either of these approaches can appeal to me as a reader, because it means the author is conscious of the choices they are making with regards to telling their story.

I'm of the opinion that the story sort of dictates the chapter length and that as a writer I should be worried less about the length of chapters in comparison to each other and more about how the length of the chapter works to tell the story.