Domain Registration and Privacy

Gonk the Insane

Hi all,
I received an email from my web-hosting and domain name registration provider (Dreamhost)today. They have always had an option for domain registration to keep your WHOIS details private - essentially replacing them with their own. As I don't particularly want a ton of spam, I've always quite liked this option, but the email I received suggests though that this is changing, and they posted a blog entry about it here. It all seems very odd, and I wondered whether anyone else has experienced anything similar? Is this something likely to be happening elsewhere, or should I be considering switching to a different provider?

I think one of the reasons this is changing (and I believe it is universal not just your provider) is that the very privacy options you are using to try to hide from the spammers are amongst the very tools the spammers use to hide themselves. I'm no expert, though, so I may be wrong.

It doesn't sound like a big deal:
dreamhost.com/blog/2016/09/18/dreamhost-domain-privacy-update/

I've never bothered with the privacy options. Yes, i get spam but Gmail takes care of it.

Always a good idea to separate business and personal email addresses. If you own your own domain it's usually fairly simple to set up two email accounts for these.

My address is on my website, so hiding it on the domain registration would be pointless.

Which is fine if you're comfy with that. I'm not. My name is memorable - and in a lot of places - and I have kids living with me. I don't want people I don't know finding my address. It might be a female thing - I think personal safety is drummed into us more - but I don't want it freely available.

I don't want it freely available.

Just a heads up for anyone running business interests from home that such information is freely available from Companies House. I learned the importance of having my registered address at my accountant's.