Which Zelazny book to read first?

alchemate

Science fiction fantasy
I have never read Zelazny before but I'm interested in checking out his books. I'm thinking Lord of Light will be a good read. Any others?

I'm not a big expert on this author, but I'll agree that Lord of Light is very good. Doorways in the Sand is a delightful romp. The three SF/crime stories in My Name is Legion are good. Many of his short stories are excellent, so any collection of them is a good bet.

Book: Jack of Shadows and the short story The Game of Blood and Dust (from The Last Defender of Camelot anthology) is essential.

I will check out Lord of Light first, and then The Game of Blood and Dust.

I'll second The Lord of Light; absolute classic in my view.

Definitely agree Lord of Light. Jack of Shadows is very good, and the Chronicles of Amber are not to be missed. As for short stories, there are too many excellent ones to mention, but A Rose For Ecclesiastes has always stood out for me.

A Rose For Ecclesiastes has always stood out for me.

It's interesting how memory plays. I've read and reread many of Zelazny's works. He and his works are almost a fixture in my head; yet, even though A Rose for Ecclesiastes figures highly in his output - and I'm certain of reading it - I've never quite given it the praise that others have.
Now that's not to deny he's a great author. By no means. There's a great deal of the profound hiding in behind the pacey aspects of his work. At some time in the future, I think things will come full circle and we'll have a reappraisal of just what he was saying.

I did not know that was a book for it seen the movie I will look for it. Baylor .I see you on scff world too!

In a general sense, I'd suggest Lord of Light followed by either Jack of Shadows or Nine Princes in Amber. I also rate highly: Isle of the Dead and Creatures of Light and Darkness