Crit of whole novel worthwhile??

Cosmic Geoff

I've been working on a fantasy novel project for a while, and it has become a 5-book series, four of them being in existence as WIP or draft and the fifth as an outline.
I'm still learning how to write stuff that somebody might want to read, but am wondering if it's important or beneficial to get a crit of a whole novel rather than a detailed crit of a short excerpt.
Needless to say, getting a crit of a short except is easier than a crit of a whole novel and much less demanding of the goodwill of others.
Naturally, if one's excerpts are full of faults, one's ability or otherwise to construct a complete novel is rather moot. :D
Is it worth having a lengthy first draft read, or should one wait till the novel is more finished?
This is a rather rambling post, but has anyone any thoughts on this?

Depends what your 'first drafts' are like. My first drafts are pretty close to my final drafts, so yeah, I've had 'first drafts' of whole MS's critiqued and it's been very worthwhile. I imagine if your first draft is rough as nuts*, it's probably not as good and your beta/critiquer might be a bit peed off.

*just realised that should be rough as nails. But I like nuts.

eta: it's not even 'nails' apparently. I have no idea what I'm saying, but you get the idea. ;)

Last edited:
Having swapped books with a few people on here and in my writing group, I can say it's definitely worthwhile over posting short extracts.

The main reason is because you're probably unlikely to post a scene on crits that you think is good, therefpore you might skip over that for something you're not as confident with. Which is fine, but I've found that by swapping books with other people they often see flaws in the bits I think are fine and I've learned that I have a terrible tendency to head hop - something I wouldn't have learned about myself through the parts I'd been posting on crits.