Professional Editing Services

Brian G Turner

Fantasist & Futurist
Staff member
Supporter
Polishing a manuscript can be hard to do by yourself, even with a good crit group.

Therefore it can be a good idea to enlist the services of a third-party professional editor, to ensure that your MS really is as polished as possible.

This thread aims to provide a useful list of editors who may be able to help with that, though please note that different editors will work in different ways.

Rather than paying for an editor to simply comment on a MS, I want to encourage this list to develop with names of individuals or companies who will seek to help at the deeper levels of editing, from line editing to developmental editing.

Feel free to make your own recommendations.

In the meantime, I'll start the list and add to it in this post as appropriate:

Teresa Edgerton

As a developmental editor, I have two goals in mind when working on any project. The first is to help the writer make that particular manuscript the best that it can be, and the second is to do so in a way that will help the writer improve his or her writing skills. To that end, I do a detailed critique of the manuscript, plus a general assessment of plot, characters, pacing, style, worldbuilding, and any other matters that come to my attention. I offer suggestions for fixing specific problems, and strategies for improving the writing in general. Although I do not do a line-by-line edit for grammar, punctuation, and spelling as a copy editor would, I will make a note of obvious mistakes that repeatedly appear.
More information: http://www.sffchronicles.co.uk/forum/527158-freelance-editing-service-open-for-business.html

John Jarrold

A regular editor for major SF/F publishers the past few decades, John now runs his ow business, providing editing services, as well as running his own SF/F literary agency.