The Pillars of the Earth

hodor

Erikson is GOD > period
I just wanted to start a thread based on the book Pillars of the Earth. I am hoping others have read this book I am currently reading. I find it most interesting and hard to put down. It seems a very in depth, well researched, and well written historical fiction. I have particularly come to find a liking to this book (not only because it mentions the city of Salisbury which happens to be my last name) because of main character, Tom, who is a mason. I myself am a carpenter by trade now for the last eleven years, and can still relate to alot of the things Tom is going through: the process of finding work, the process of analyzing work done, and the process of organizing work.

I know that most of the people that would have read this book would probably not have seen it from the perspective that I have but, I hope to have a few people respond to this and tell me what they have thought about the book.

I haven't read this novel, but I have heard of it (assuming I am thinking of the same piece of work). On paperback, it is a hefty 600 or 700 page book, correct?

I have heard some very good things about it.

I don't think I've read it either, though if it's the book I think I tried it once... Don't know why I didn't go through with it... Maybe I wasn't mature enough back then.

The author is Ken Follett, right? Just to make sure everybody talks about the same book... :)

yes the author is Ken Follet and so far I am loving it. Don't get me wrong though, it's not a sci fi and it's not a fantasy; it's a historical fiction set in early 12th century england during the norman-french days. I must say though, so far as I have gotten I realize the devices of the church are absolutely diabolical in this novel. The poor man is NOTHING. Very well written and, though I haven't finished it, I would recommend everything I have read to anyone who enjoyed a well written book!