New Writer, Big Ideas, Suggestions?

miken277

Hello, I'm relatively new to science fiction, (and writing fiction in general) but have an intense desire to get started on a writing short stories based in the near future which incorporate relatively advanced technology, such as antigravity, AI, robots, political and social debate around issues of national identity and educational techniques, ancient and modern esoteric philosophy, and so on. Rather than being blade-runner esque, I'm focusing on something much lighter themed, which is hopeful about our future and is broadly affirmative of the "internationalist" viewpoint, in the sense of the UN, which affirms unity in diversity, while seriously encountering and grappling with what national and social identity is, (i.e. identification with groups, any groups), the struggle to address nationalism without extinguishing national identity, and the struggle to identify what human identity might be, in relation to this. I'd like to workshop chapters here and also be in contact with more experienced authors who can point me to the kinds of world-building science fiction which might inspire what I want to write. Thanks!
-Mike N.

Near future stories have a tendency tot become quickly dated . You might be better off doing stories set in more distant times than the near future times. However , one way to get around the problem becoming dated to make it an alt history near future story. Another's a possible near future.

Last edited:
Good stuff, fair play -the workshop subthread here is excellent for developing writing. There's a character creation chain, exercise for description and a whole pile of other developmental games. The 100 word anonymous challenge is about to begin too, courtesy of @elvet -it's the perfect thing for refining down ideas and there's a good chance you'll get the bones of a longer tale from it (starts next Tue).