Foolscap / Story Grid

ColGray

Anyone use the Foolscap method for plotting a book? I recently read the Story Grid and found it completely overhauled A) how I thought about genre and b) how I approached editing. (I'm not affiliated in any way with them) I have not done any of their seminars or other stuff -- and find some of the scene level discussions to be... meh? It feels very thriller-genre specific, and maybe even specific to a different time in publishing? But the breakout of internal/external plot, genre tropes, expectations and thinking of inciting incidents, stakes and payoffs has been very helpful when editing.

As I'm gearing up to write something in a totally new setting, I'm trying the Foolscap method for planning. I'm wondering if others have done that and found it useful/limiting/controlling/incredible/???

(Full disclosure, I'm a seat-of-the-pants writer who uses improv rules: nothing exists until it's on the page, but once it's on the page, it exists and goes in my notes document)

I'd never heard of it before. I Googled it quickly but the gist of it seemed to be "condense until you can fit it on one side of foolscap". Is there much more to it? And you mentioned in a recent post finding it "stifled" you. Were there specific issues you found with it?

It's a structured way to break down the story where you explicitly determine the critical bits for the story BEFORE you write anything. Steve Pressfield talks about it at length (
). It's a way to give you guideposts for beginning hook, middle build and payoff where you know, inside a 3 act structure, what the main points are. It also gives you a target to hit -- e.g. I know I'm ending THERE so whatever I write needs to aim towards that goal.

From an editing standpoint, i think it's incredibly helpful. I did it on a complete novel and it helped me determine what was, and wasn't, working to support the plot.