Repairable smartphone

Danny McG

"Uroshnor!"
I've just been reading about a new "right to repair" smartphone, the Nokia G22.

Apparently it's been designed so, with a small screwdriver, you can easily change the charging port, the screen or the battery.
The components are to be readily obtainable and reasonably priced.

Here's hoping other manufacturers follow suit.

Ok so I work in the tech industry and planned obsolescence is obscene in my opinion.

The problem will be largely due to the software, the hardware lifecycles are not condusive to repair considering that they mirror the OS cycles. This phone will only be repairable and functional (as in all recent apps will work) for the time it takes for the OS provider to stop releasing an OS that works on that chipset.

So with the exception of meaning you don't need to have parts repaired by a 3rd party, I don't think this will do much to extend the lifespan of the hardware.

Ok so I work in the tech industry and planned obsolescence is obscene in my opinion.

The problem will be largely due to the software, the hardware lifecycles are not condusive to repair considering that they mirror the OS cycles. This phone will only be repairable and functional (as in all recent apps will work) for the time it takes for the OS provider to stop releasing an OS that works on that chipset.

So with the exception of meaning you don't need to have parts repaired by a 3rd party, I don't think this will do much to extend the lifespan of the hardware.

Apparently they’re guaranteeing OS and security upgrades for three years.

I’ve had my iPhone for 4 years and it won’t run the latest IOS which is needed to run or upgrade some useful apps. In addition the battery is starting to run down in less than a day and it’s starting to run slowly - no doubt intentional on Apples part. The replacement costs over £700.