~520 words -- too bleak for an opening?

This is great. Not too bleak. You hit an excellent tone. I'm curious where this story goes from here.

I particularly loved the description: amorphous blue smudges retreating through the glass.

Hi, I am new to Chronicles. So impressed with your writing; I found this a pure, beautifully expressed scene of grief. I can see why @THX1138’s first impression of Bo was as a manifestation of a mother’s despair, not a flesh&blood character: his single word “Baby,” his touch to her belly.

I think this will be a strong, evocative passage wherever you choose to place it.

According to all of my friends, I had the worst college literature and creative writing professor That Ever Walked the Earth. I've spent a significant portion of my life repairing myself from what I've learned and am trying to figure out what was good and what was bad from what I learned. So please, correct me if I am wrong about this but from what I was taught in class, tense shifts should be taken care of. There were a few tense shifts where it goes from present to past tense. However, I see the same issue with published novels! According to my creative writing professor in college, Stephen King would have gotten an F on his report card. However, if this is actually something good that I learned, double check the shifts in your tense. Other than that, I think bleak was what you were going for! I think you did a good job.
This is the new opening for A Sour Ground (don't roll your eyes, yes I know it's been 11 years...)

One of the POVs' (Redd Sommer) arc is dealing with the loss of her twins (around 7-10 years old -- not important), and Redd and her husband moving house from the New Forest (a place analogous to Bransgore to those who know Dorset) to Kyngesmouth (Bournemouth).

Not so much a crit as a sort of straw poll. If it's too bleak I'll change back to the other POV's' (Willie) opening which atm happens after this, in London.