The science of science fiction

Franchino

I am a professor of physics (Florence, Italy) and I am preparing a series of lectures on the "science of science fiction", say time and space travels, aliens (their behaviour, mind and languages), exobiology, robots and artificial intelligence, etc.
My main focus is the relationship between science and science fiction, for instance how relativity changed the ideas of space travel, how biology affected alien representation, the influence of computers, neural networks, deep learning on artificial intelligence.
In many cases scifi authors anticipated the reality, but in others (especially in the biology of parasites, and in the role of inter-individual communication) the reality is weirder than imagination.

Suggestion and references are welcome (and try to help me in recovering old references, see my other posts).

In case someone is interested I can share my draft, when ready.

Good luck with the lectures!

I can't help with recommendations, but I'll move your thread over to Book Discussion where it will likely get more notice -- Book Search is really for those who half-remember a specific book, but just can't put a author name or title to it.

I can suggest a few books that I own:

The Physics of Star Trek by Lawrence M Kraus. Kraus was a "science adviser" to some seasons of Star Trek.
Is Data Human? The Metaphysics of Star Trek by Richard Hanley.
I think there was also a Biology of Star Trek that I read, but I don't remember the author.
The Science of Doctor Who by Paul Parsons.

Well you simply MUST check out Tau Zero by Poul Anderson who had a degree in physics. The most interesting thing is that advances in physics contradicted the ending of the story. The rate of expansion of the universe is increasing.

The cool thing about science fiction is that it makes science more interesting than a lot of science teachers.

For social affects of computer technology:

Daemon & Freedom by Daniel Suarez

and