November / December 100 Word Anonymous Challenge 2022

Space Truck’n Bar & Grill

Upon removing my leather jacket, the waitress began looking at my exposed arms. “Like my tattoos?”

She smiled, “I was staring at your scars. How did you get that one on your shoulder?”

“I got it when I was a soldier, fighting vampires on the Ghost planet.”

“And that one?”

“A unicorn shoved his horn through my bicep.”

“That one?”

“Damn mermaid bit me.”

“That one?”

“Dark Elf dagger. I’d like to order the Lovecraft Nacho Grande, please.”, I said smiling.

She grimaced, “How did you break your front tooth?”

“I walked into the glass door as I can in.”

Family TIEs

"NONE SHALL PASS."

"Hang on, aren't you...?"

"Yes, I am the Black Knight."

"I thought I'd mortally injured you!"

"I told you it was just a flesh wound."

"I chopped your arms and legs off!"

"Haven't you seen 'Revenge of the Sith'?"

"Yes, but that was in a galaxy far, far away. This is medieval England."

"Arthur... I am your father."

"No, that's not true; that's impossible!"

"Remove my helmet; let me look on you with my own eyes."

"Right, this is all getting far too silly. Come Patsy, we're off!"

"Where're you going? Come back! Nooooooo!"

You too?

When will this end? My search was far and wide, extensive, complete. But I still haven’t found what I’m looking for. And my wounds remained unhealed.

Then I see him there, chained to the Stonehenge, another sacrifice to the heathen gods. So I draw my laser pistol and shoot down hooded acolytes until it’s just him and me.

“Are going to kill me?” he asks, tearful.

“What are you doing here?”

“I look for my lost love, but find only hate and death.” His dark brown eyes sparkle like hidden treasures.

Perhaps my search has not been in vain.

Operation Nightingale

Military hospital-ship Our Finest Hour was jinxed. Had to be, with such a name. Many of the wounded soldiers being carried into its vast infirmary grumbled. But others just smiled and remained silent.