WiFi In Samsung Flatscreen TV

dask

dark and stormy knight
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
4,156
Location
Pacific Northwest
I’m trying to figure out how to connect my Samsung Flatscreen TV to my WiFi network. A YouTube tutorial instructed me to go into settings and click Network Types where I should be given the option of either wired or wireless network:
89D06E8C-DC52-49D5-AF8E-ECBCEF39CDE5.jpeg

However, when I go into my settings for options I’m only offered one, wired:
EB61F32A-8E12-4248-A0A9-50AB269741A8.jpeg

Is there no way to connect WiFi to my flatscreen? Would one of those devices you plug into desktops to receive WiFi work, or a Chromecast thingy? Or am I dead in the water in this respect?
 

Alex The G and T

Thar! That Blows.
Joined
Jan 25, 2012
Messages
3,001
Location
Extremely Northern California
I notice that no one else had chimed in, all day.

Which means that the only solution is to bash through the menuswithinmenuswithinmenus

Until you concede an enormous frustration and acknowledge ultimate defeat.

Personally, I just want a huge mixer board with lots of sliders, faders and pan-pots; so I can make all adjustments in Real-Time.

I used to be able to buy a high quality, expensive AV system and expect it to last a hundred years, Nowadays, the best equipment is obsolete to a lousy plug-in connection, piracy-prevention schema, every three years.

Are you @#$%^&*() kidding me?!!? I spent a grand on this sh*t.

At least the loud-speakers still work. ( I mean really loud. Because I need Loud-speakers that are really loud. Like, shake the house, no distortion, really really loud speakers.
 

Mr Cairo

NOAH was a conspiracy nut ... then it rained
Joined
Feb 22, 2022
Messages
109
Location
South Wales, UK
Its odd that the one network has BDJ5100 as Im sure thats the network settings for a standalone BluRay player (the one I have) not a TV and that player is a Wired only BluRay.

What model is the TV ?
 

dask

dark and stormy knight
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
4,156
Location
Pacific Northwest
Its odd that the one network has BDJ5100 as Im sure thats the network settings for a standalone BluRay player (the one I have) not a TV and that player is a Wired only BluRay.

What model is the TV ?

My TV is a Samsung and nowhere in settings is there any mention of WiFi, Ethernet or internet. In order to get the image tutorials on YouTube say I should get by going into the settings on the TV itself, I have to go through my Samsung Blu-Ray player and as you noted that only offers a wired Network option. Since the Blu-Ray has an Ethernet port on the back, my next step is to run an Ethernet cord from the modem to the Blu-Ray and see what 21st century digital magic might transpire.
 

Mr Cairo

NOAH was a conspiracy nut ... then it rained
Joined
Feb 22, 2022
Messages
109
Location
South Wales, UK
My TV is a Samsung and nowhere in settings is there any mention of WiFi, Ethernet or internet. In order to get the image tutorials on YouTube say I should get by going into the settings on the TV itself, I have to go through my Samsung Blu-Ray player and as you noted that only offers a wired Network option. Since the Blu-Ray has an Ethernet port on the back, my next step is to run an Ethernet cord from the modem to the Blu-Ray and see what 21st century digital magic might transpire.

Sorry been away to London for a few days so apologies for the late reply and that all sounds odd.

First off the model of your TV will help The TV make is a Samsung but the model itself should be something like UE43AU7100KXXU 43"

next You cant change the TV settings through the Bluray player even if you plug in the ethernet port it will only affect the Bluray even though they are both samsung, On most modern-ish Samsung TV remotes you should be able to select

Menu > settings > General and then network to get the TV Wifi settings (if your TV is around 5 years or newer that is )

or

Menu > Settings > network

or even

tools > Settings > Network

Every model is slightly different so the actual TV model will help a lot if you cant find that

it would be very strange for a newish TV to not offer ethernet and Wifi .... is there an ethernet port on the back of the TV?
 
Last edited:

dask

dark and stormy knight
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
4,156
Location
Pacific Northwest
it would be very strange for a newish TV to not offer ethernet and Wifi .... is there an ethernet port on the back of the TV?
No, there isn’t. The only option I have in the TV settings is something called Plug & Play:
41E37CD0-8586-4E43-90B0-5C27846976C3.jpeg

And when I click that I get:
86FE1BC0-F7B4-4562-A409-5F3D58F25DC6.jpeg

Once I get to that point, I have to turn the TV off to get rid of it. There’s no way I can find to get to either “Enter” or “Return” and I sure don’t want to click “Start” just to see what will happen. Even the Exit button on the remote won’t get me out of it.
 

Mr Cairo

NOAH was a conspiracy nut ... then it rained
Joined
Feb 22, 2022
Messages
109
Location
South Wales, UK
I am pretty sure that the Plug and Play is something that runs when you first set the TV up out of the box checking channels, date and time and light settings etc, it may be that you missed the network setting when this was running during the initial setup

If you did run it again it should just run you through the initial setup again

No Ethernet port is not that odd as most TVs are wifi only now but no separate network setting in the menu is a little unusual

Without an exact model though its hard to tell you where to go, did you get a manual for the TV surely that must have a network entry

Some Samsing TVs do come with wireless LAN adapter packed away seperatly with the Remote and Batteries ... dont suppose that was in the box by any chance, I am out of ideas otherwise..
 

dask

dark and stormy knight
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
4,156
Location
Pacific Northwest
I bought my Blu-Ray and flatscreen at the same time and kept the manuals together for easy reference. I found the Blu-Ray manual where I remember putting them both but as you might expect the flatscreen was missing. I know I didn’t intentionally throw it away but where it disappeared to is a matter for quantum physics. I did find the manual online:

but see no reference to either internet or WiFi. I have used the USB port it talks about for photos but that about it. There is something about using the TV as a monitor for a PC but I’m not sure I follow it.
 
Last edited:

SilentRoamer

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 5, 2015
Messages
1,348
Ok so despite the menu offering a connection option (Wired) - you have stated there is no Ethernet port on the back. Are there any additional ports on the side of the TV that look like card slots?


According to Samsung there is no Ethernet or WIFI input/output connectivity as standard. I suspect this TV shares the same base OS as a similar model that does have internet capability or it has a Common Interface slot that can be used to add that functionality.
 

Mr Cairo

NOAH was a conspiracy nut ... then it rained
Joined
Feb 22, 2022
Messages
109
Location
South Wales, UK
Well that is unusual in this day but it does appear that you do not have any type of internet Wifi capability built in but the device I linked to below should, could, possibly maybe give you that ability.


as I said that will possibly give you Wifi on that TV but I cannot say with any certainty that it will .. sorry about that.

EDIT> can see that SilentRoamer has said the same, sorry couldnt help more.
 

SilentRoamer

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 5, 2015
Messages
1,348
Honestly I don't think the above would work, the reviews are by a lot of people with varying models saying it does not work for them, although it might. Your best bet to get internet on the TV is to sidestep the TV totally:

Look at a Freeview or a NowTV box, you connect that box to the internet and then you can just use the boxes internet on your TV. The NowTV/Freeview boxes can be bought for <£30 and you can setup NowTV on a free trial, it offers apps such as YouTube, Netlifx, Prime etc.

If it was me I wouldn't even try getting internet on the TV, but get it on a TV connected device.
 

Ursa major

Bearly Believable
Staff member
Supporter
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
23,073
Location
England
My Samsung TV is happily connected to my Wifi (even though the latter changed when I got a new modem/router) and has been since the first day of the 2014 World Cup. :)

Unfortunately, as that was so long ago, I can't recall how this was achieved. :(
 

SilentRoamer

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 5, 2015
Messages
1,348
My Samsung TV is happily connected to my Wifi (even though the latter changed when I got a new modem/router) and has been since the first day of the 2014 World Cup. :)

Unfortunately, as that was so long ago, I can't recall how this was achieved. :(

It really has no relevance unless it is the exact same model/TV OS. As that particular model has no Wifi capabilities then it would be unlikely.

Nothing wrong with TVs from 2014 - just WIFI capability was not a given on TV's made around then.
 

SilentRoamer

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 5, 2015
Messages
1,348
I am aware of that... but it doesn't matter because, even if we owned the same model, I still could not tell Dask how to connect his TV to the WiFi.

Most of them are really easy to connect to be honest, they're generally so hassle free people just go through the motions.

If I asked my wife what model TV we had she would say "a black one", if I asked my dad he would say a "flat one" and if I asked either of my daughters they would say "we need a newer bigger one". :ROFLMAO:
 

Similar threads


Top