"Tommy and the Order of Cosmic Champions" - Coming-of-Age, Low Fantasy

Anthony Grate

Living in the past on a daily basis.

This is something that I and my colleague have been working on since the Fall of 2020, and it's finally scheduled for release this Fall through Greenleaf Book Group.

"Tommy and the Order of Cosmic Champions" was born out of an idea I had been toying around with for several years - loosely based on some of my own childhood experiences and sweetened with healthy doses of '80s nostalgia, fantasy and adventure.

Novel Cover Mockup - Greenleaf 4 Smaller.png

Synopsis:

Eleven-year-old Tommy Grant is trying to deal with some unfavorable circumstances that are intruding in his otherwise tranquil life in rural 1980s Ohio. He retreats into the thing he loves most... Order of Cosmic Champions. The long-running and highly successful animated program and line of toys provides Tommy with a much needed boost of joy, especially when he discovers that the manufacturer that produces OoCC is holding a nationwide "Create-A-Character" contest. The winning design will be made into an action figure that will be sold the world over, and its creator will become "President For A Day" at the headquarters of the company.

But when Tommy's character design loses out, he feels his world spinning out of control, and he can only think of one way to fix it... find the kid that submitted the winning design, and try to convince him to help make Tommy's dream come true.

When he runs away from home to travel hundreds of miles into the frightening unknowns of the world, he begins to have visions of some all too familiar characters. Soon the lines between fantasy and reality are blurred for Tommy, and his quest becomes much more than he anticipated.

Promo_SFFChronicles.png