Author Websites - what works?

Mon0Zer0

Supporter
Without turning this into a self-promo post, what are the best author websites you've seen, and what did you like about them? What didn't you like?

In your opinion, what is the must have functionality that every author website should have?

I'm a web developer professionally and work closely with UI/UX (user interaction/experience) designers closely. There are a few key areas for any seller's website, let alone an author. One caveat is that some of these are guidelines based around the design, so aren't 100% set in stone.

- A call to action should be as easily accessible as possible. For an author, this is most likely an email signup form or social media buttons, or both. You don't want to hide these at the bottom or only on certain pages - you want to have them around the middle of the homepage and clearly visible, and anywhere else you'd catch people - blog posts, contact page etc.

- Offer your product straight away. For an author, you'll want to show some cover work, an extract, a review, basically something to highlight what you're selling. If you make it all about you without your work, you'd be surprised how quickly people turn away without even scrolling down. We find about a third of people don't even scroll down. Maybe they came to the site by accident, maybe they didn't like what they saw, but try and keep them engaged asap.

- Performance. This one is a little more technical but applies to any site. If your site takes a few seconds to load on desktop computers, you're going to lose a lot of visitors. If people are using phones and 4G in a tricky area or even 3G for whatever reason, this load time is significantly increased. People won't stare at a blank screen for more than a few seconds nowadays. Everyone's in a rush.