A New Author

Summerwood

To my fellow readers and writers, I am a new author working on my first book using Dabble. It is a big responsibility. Bringing a world together that feels real and building trust with the readers. As a writer, how do you feel when you start a new project or finish one you put your heart and soul into?

When I start, I am certain that it will be the most wonderful thing ever written. After a chapter or so, I am certain that the story is utter garbage. After a few more pages, it becomes good again, but then later reverts to doubt. When I finally type 'The End,' I have a wonderful feeling of accomplishment. When I go back and make an editing pass, I wonder who could have written such drivel. Eventually, it all seems good, yet again.

My feelings are pretty much the same at both the beginning and ending of writing a book: nervous mixed with excitement. The only difference at the end, is that there is also extreme relief at having finally finished. In the middle though is where things get messy and you'll see tears of frustration (or in my case grief when your laptop turns against you and eats your manuscript), lots of sighing and huffing when your brain isn't cooperating and you're staring for hours at a screen having only typed (maybe) a half-dozen words, and jubilant shouts when inspiration finally strikes and you're off writing at a good pace again.

Well, I can't speak about finishing something yet but as for me the starting something new is like teenage love: Shallow, full of expectations and dreams. Having everything on your head, imagining the scenes, the moments, like picturing the movie before the novel even exists.

But then reality kicks in and it's time to write.

First, the "core", those key moments, what happens, and then seeing that those lousy and general paragraphs need to be transformed into prose and dialogue to turn it into a real story.