Fantasy world-building scene

Topher

Hi all,

I've finally gotten around to working on my WiP a little more. I've started with writing an early chapter, though not a first chapter. It's a scene in which two main characters (Saa and Barden), who the reader will have met before, meet for the first time, and tries to do a little bit of world building and character development rather than pushing the plot forward massively (beyond just them meeting). I am very new to fiction writing, and this is really the first thing of this kind i've ever attempted, so am really keen on any general feedback you can offer - does it seem at all interesting? Is it too info dump-ey? Is the writing style OK?

This is the first 1500 words from an approx. 5000 word scene I have written - if anyone would like to read the whole thing to comment on it, I would of course be thrilled to send it to you.

Thanks a lot!
Topher

Barden tugged at the scratchy brown hood of the cloak Syd had given him, bringing it low over his eyes. He’d expected more people, to be able to blend in to the background, yet there were barely a dozen people here, and each one of them had turned to stare when they arrived.

The villagers were arranged in a large circle around a group of saplings. Torches made from a scrubby grass created a flickering light, shadows from the trees dancing around them wildly. The night had been bright on the walk here, a large moon lighting their path. Now, so close to the torches, the night behind them seemed dark and dense, solid. Barden longed to sink back into it.