Matres’ Twilight #1: Arbiter First Page

SonicSouls

I have completed the minimum thirty posts required to post something for critique. I’m an unpublished author, and seek to start a YA dark fantasy series.

Rather than having a central protagonist, there will be a small number of them. Each story is seen through the third-person limited perspective of one. Some protagonists will be reoccurring, others used once. They will change, and possibly die. By doing this, it lets me explore the world in a way being limited to one protagonist or a small party wouldn’t.

Characters don’t have to know each other, but their actions can affect each other. I felt this was more realistic than one person or group single-handily changing history’s course. Rather, its multiple forces acting together, often inadvertently, that changes it. Plus, it would be implausible that several of the characters would ever ally. The series’ identity will be maintained through shared themes, characters, and the interactions of various forces. But each story will also have an identity of its own.

I have written the entire first novella and have gone through several drafts. So, I’m ready to post it for critique. But I want to test something. I’m going to just post the first page for now. Besides standard critique about grammar, style, etc. there is one question above all I want answered. Would you continue reading the story after this? If not, why? I want to use this to catch any issues that might be prevalent throughout the rest of the story. Thanks.

FYI, I know the word “leper” is offensive. That gets mentioned later. The connotations of it and the historical context fit the world’s views on disease, so I kept it for consistency.

Side note, it won't render my indents for some reason. Does anyone know how to fix this?

Here’s the first page:

Chapter One