I'm Very New

PrettyScrappy

Hello! I am very new to writing, but have recently had an amazing idea for a book I would like to write. I have put down my road map and have mostly finished world building, but am having some trouble with my outline. I know what my inciting incident, midpoint, and ending will be, but I'm not exactly sure how to get from the beginning to the midpoint. My story is a journey and I have a general idea of what I want to happen, but specifics arent really coming to me. Any advice? Thank you all!

Tricky. My first instinct is to say start writing. Get your inciting incident on the page and try to move on to your midpoint. You will likely have several false starts that don't work but I find this process helps me discover new paths through a story.

Alternatively, write your inciting incident, write your midpoint, then see if you can find a path between them. Once you find that path, you will likely have to rewrite either the beginning, midpoint or both, but that's the nature of the writing beast.

I faced a similar issue with my current WiP. Like you, I had a solid start, middle and end but the connective tissues were fuzzy. I had half a dozen alternatives outlined, none of which did quite what I wanted. As I wrote the opening chapters, however, the characters and conflicts became more clearly defined and this helped focus the story.

Hi and welcome! Now, tips? Just take a look at the threads and you will find a lot of advice on various aspects such as the creative process itself, on preaching or not to the reader, on arc and character descriptions and treatments, on writing blocks, etc. , etc etc. You've come to the right place, so come in and make yourself comfortable.