What would you be looking for in a Sci-Fi radio drama

Ulchero

Hi everyone,
I'm a college student and our class's current project is to make a radio drama.
As part of my research I'm looking to discover what makes sci-fi radio dramas interesting in hope that I'll be able to make a decent one myself.
What specific tropes or concepts would you want to see in a production?
Any comments on the subject would go a long way to help my research!

I think how you handle world-building in a radio show is pretty important. There's a podcast I listen to called "Within the Wires" that I think handles world-building brilliantly. It works slowly, with each episode dropping hints about the kind of world it takes place in. Those hints act like pieces of a puzzle, and as you accumulate them, you get a much better picture of this fictional world and why it is the way it is. This is just one way to handle it, but there are many other ways that would work and it really depends on your story. "War of the Worlds" handled it by not handling it and making listeners think it took place in the real world, which caused some people to flip out.

As for what tropes to use, that's up to you. Sci-fi is a broad genre. You can have anything from aliens to post-apocalyptic landscapes to robots to... you get the idea. What I'd recommend not doing is going through a list of tropes and trying to incorporate all of them into your show. Tell the story that you want to tell and the appropriate tropes will work their way in on their own.

I'm a college student and our class's current project is to make a radio drama.