The Preacher's Knife

Status
Not open for further replies.

Damiynn

Fantasy Author
I am a fantasy author, who has traveled the world.
Chapter 1
I didn't really need my gun but I still pushed back the edge of my long knitted coat revealing the cross draw rig slung cavalry style on my left hip. My pistol's worn wooden grip glinted under the light of the street lamp. I hoped I wouldn’t need it, I knew the man who lived in the ramshackle house.

This side of Denver was not as rich as some parts of the large city, but it also wasn’t out on the frontier. Denver was not a backwater hole in the wall. Where he was, was supposed to be one of the calmer sections. It even had lights.
I didn’t want to have to listen to my boss chewing my ass out again about drawing my weapon around the good citizens when I didn't have to. His gruff speech suddenly filled my head.

“Discretion Marshal Mollon, this isn’t Dodge City or Deadwood. Denver is a modern city. It doesn’t require gunfights on the streets or magical duels at the slightest provocation. We are supposed to be civilized human beings. City folks like to hear or read about gunfights, not participate in them.”

Coughing slightly, I let the two hunkered down local lawmen who had drawn my attention from across the street know I was behind them. Their heads whipped about sharply at the sound but I saw them relax immediately when I they saw the silver star pinned to the outside of my coat. With a friendly gesture I thumbed back the brim of my hat.

“Gentlemen, can I help in any way, I know the man who lives there.”

The two local lawmen motioned me over. The older and more seasoned of the pair said, “Maybe Marshal. The man inside that house killed a man in a drunken brawl and cut four others within a few inches of their lives with a rune marked blade that won't let the wounds heal properly. All we want to do is bring him in for questioning.”