Apologies for the down time

Brian G Turner

Fantasist & Futurist
Staff member
Supporter
Joined
Nov 23, 2002
Messages
23,146
Location
Highlands
My apologies for the downtime yesterday - chrons was offline for around 12 hours after a serious server crash. I'm told that the first attempt to restore all data failed, which was one reason why it took so long to recover - if your own computer has ever crashed and needed everything reinstalling again, you'll know it's not a quick job anyway. :)

I also wanted to reassure everyone that every Sunday morning I do a manual backup of the chrons database, so that I always have a pretty recent backup without having to rely on the hosting company. That way, I always have a relatively recent copy to fall back on in the event of a catastrophic loss of data.

Anyway, here's hoping it's smooth running on the server from now on. :)
 

Dave

Custom title not found
Staff member
Supporter
Joined
Jan 5, 2001
Messages
18,895
Location
Way on Down South, London Town
The monkey! It's always the monkeys.

Seriously, I'm surprised that no posts seem to have been lost. I have some up to 10.00 BST that are recovered. I'd say they are doing a good job with the backing up. Back in the Great Crash weeks were lost. You can't really avoid the hardware failing at some point, but you can be prepared for it happening.
 

The Judge

Truth. Order. Moderation.
Staff member
Joined
Nov 10, 2008
Messages
10,581
Location
nearly the New Forest
Just looked, and one of mine in the Staff Room seems to be the very last one saved before everything went pear-shaped. I thought there were other posts made after that, though, before I logged off, so it could be we've lost a few.

Anyhow, thanks for sorting it all out, Brian. I wasn't quite at Graymalkin's DT stage, but I was definitely getting withdrawal symptoms!
 

REBerg

Registered Alien
Supporter
Joined
May 27, 2013
Messages
4,338
Location
Kepler-440b
I'm amazed at how much I was able to accomplish yesterday. :D

If it's any kind of help in determining what went wrong, this is what I got all day when I attempted to connect.

chronsfatalerror.PNG


Someone fluent in technogibberish might find a clue here. :unsure:
 

Abernovo

Well-Known Member
Supporter
Joined
Sep 13, 2011
Messages
3,061
Glad we're back, up and running. Thanks for all the hard work, Brian.
 

elvet

Easily amused
Supporter
Joined
Feb 21, 2006
Messages
1,557
Location
Ontario, Canada
When I get an error message, I always assume it is my device’s fault. My first instinct is to reach out to a fellow member to confirm it’s not just me ( thanks @Lucien21 ). Then I got the explanation on the Facebook feed. Nice to have that info.
 

The Big Peat

Darth Buddha
Joined
Apr 9, 2016
Messages
2,399
Thanks for getting it back up - and a lot quicker than I've seen a lot of forum issues handled!
 

TheDustyZebra

Aspiring notaphilist
Staff member
Supporter
Joined
Nov 26, 2009
Messages
8,866
Location
Colorado
*Makes a mental note that, in future, its best not to unplug random things in the Chrons when one wants to charge up their Kindle*

Glad to see things all back and in good order and that it was just a crash that caused the issue! :)
Oh, good, I thought it was me plugging in the space heater under the board. (That's how I took the radio station off the air on Christmas morning one year when I worked there.)
 

scarpelius

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2018
Messages
298
Location
Bucharest
I'm amazed at how much I was able to accomplish yesterday. :D

If it's any kind of help in determining what went wrong, this is what I got all day when I attempted to connect.

View attachment 47028

Someone fluent in technogibberish might find a clue here. :unsure:
That is essentially saying there is no DB available to connect to.

This kind of message should not be allowed in a production server, as it will allow an eventual attacker to get insights about the site structure.
 

M. Robert Gibson

I'm sorry Dave, I'm afraid I can't do that
Supporter
Joined
Feb 10, 2018
Messages
602
Location
Discovery One
Someone fluent in technogibberish might find a clue here
That is essentially saying there is no DB available to connect to.

This kind of message should not be allowed in a production server, as it will allow an eventual attacker to get insights about the site structure.
To put it another way, the developers could be a bit more robust in their exception handling.
 
Top