The best film, for you

As I age, I find that I gain exposure to more films... and I find that the themes I perceive in each film changes with age.... and what I desire to see in a film changes with age. What I enjoy viewing, what I critically esteem has changed over the years....

I can cite certain scenes and characters as phenomenal... but the entire movie?

The best movies have undeniably powerful and personal themes... revolving around the meaning of life.

I am not a professional critic, nor have seen enough films to judge any the best... but here are some of my favorite films that I feel are very strong (from start to finish) in their story, theme, characters, and presentation.

1. Glory, 1988. If you have not seen it, see it immediately... if not sooner. If you have seen it, see it again.

2. The General, 1926. I thought Keaton would have to over act (think of Danny Kaye, Kurt Russell and Jim Carey in an over acting contest) to make this movie.... but I was wrong. He is so subtle, so understated, that I found myself glued to his every single breath. Pure brilliance. Brilliance. Citizen Kane? I fell asleep. The General is riveting.

Hmmmmm.... both of my top two movies are set in the American Civil War.

Warlock, 1959. I know it sounds like fantasy, but it's a western. Richard Widmark and Henry Fonda get top billing, but Anthony Quinn steals the show. What is the price for peace? What is the price for justice? They may not be the same.

Mary Poppins, 1964. Julie Andrews. What? You need more than Julie Andrews? The Sherman brothers at their best. And even though it seems a movie for children, it is a call to arms for parents.

The Jungle Book, 1967. Disney animation. Catchy music. Finding a home.

One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest, 1975. Looking for the easy way out may just put you into the path evil. Have you seen Louise Fletcher as Frank's mother in Shameless? Nurse Ratched is the most terrifying villain I've ever seen.