What's the Cut-Off for "Early British Literature"?

Extollager

Please take a moment to say what you think would be the most recent date or period belonging under the term "early British literature." It would be particularly of interest to me if you could sate also the context -- i.e. "Here's how 'early British literature' was defined at the university where I studied literature in the 1990s" or "Here's how I'd think of 'early British literature.'" I'll say why after I see some responses. Thanks.

Put me in the "Here's how I'd think" category, as I was not an English major.

There are many ways to think about this. "Early" could mean Beowulf, while "Middle" could mean The Canterbury Tales, and "Modern" could mean Shakespeare. That's based on the language used.

Based on "stuff that seems 'early' to me as a reader" I suppose I would place the dividing line somewhere around 1800. Both Frankenstein and Pride and Prejudice feel "modern" to me in a way that, say, the (very readable) Swift doesn't.

I hope that's subjective enough.

Old English lit: up to about 1066 (the Norman conquest) Another language almost entirely. Beowulf etc. English undergraduates carrying texbooks written by Tolkein.
Middle English lit: 1066 up to about 1500. That would include Chaucer and Morte D'Arthur. Tough but not impossible to understand without a dictionary. Clearly related (Chaucer) to modern ribald humour.
After that Shakespeare, Jilly Cooper etc.

My son thinks anything written before about 1985 is Early British Literature.

Last edited:
Well, you're asking about British literature. The Acts of Union which formed Britain was passed in 1707 under Queen Anne, so early British literature would be from 1707, until I would say, perhaps Austen around 1800. So, I think we're talking about the 18th century. That would capture Defoe, Fielding, Richardson, Swift.

Thanks, everyone.