Star Wars characters: different names in different languages

Brian G Turner

Fantasist & Futurist
Staff member
Supporter
As I'm currently studying French and Italian, I thought it might be worth checking out Star Wars in those languages as a learning resource - not least because I recorded an audio version when it was first shown on domestic TV, and listened to it over and over to the point of almost learning the script line by line.

However, checking out the transcripts to the original Star Wars film, I noticed some major changes to character names:

Italian:
C3-PO = D3-BO
R2-D2 = C1-P8
Darth Vader = Darth Fener

French
:

C3-PO = Z6-PO
R2-D2 = D2-R2

Apparently there is also the following:
Darth Vader = Dark Vador
Chewbacca = Chicktaba
The Death Star = L'Etoille Noir (The Black Star)

I'm under the impression that some names may have been changed to make them sync better.

I'm curious, though - does anyone know of any other interesting changes to character names in different languages?

I believe a couple of names were changed in the Witcher series when it was translated into English from Polish - again, for ease of reading. And of course many of the punning names of Asterix characters were made up by the translators.

Some film titles are interesting. I think the French title of Jaws was "The Teeth of the Sea", and the Hungarian title for Alien was the rather philosophical-sounding "The Eighth Passenger Is Death".

Brian G Turner said:
does anyone know of any other interesting changes to character names in different languages?

In the French dub of Episode 4, "Chewbacca" indeed became "Chiquetabac" (literally "chewing tobacco") and "Chewie" "Chico" as a result. But curiously, Episode 5 rectified this and kept the original English name. The same thing happened to "The Millennium Falcon" which became "le Millénium Condor" in A New Hope only.