Brand New Opening Scene ~ 1,203 words

Mith

Confused
Good evening everyone.

Ever since I scrapped my last WiP just after Christmas I've been working on something else, which I'm going great with so far. I'm ready now to throw the opening scene on your tender mercies. It's still in first draft, so there's likely to grammar and punctuation errors that I haven't picked up on, so if you spot them, you know what to do.

This scene is something that I've never tried to write before, so a bit out my comfort zone, so if you could let me know how it reads, flows and could be improved. And would you be interested enough to read on.

Anyhow, do your best!

‘Possible target sighted, approaching house,’ Riley’s voice came through loud and clear in my earpiece.

‘Confirmed, blonde male with neck tattoos just passed us, likely is the target,’ that was Howard.

‘Roger that, keep eyes on,’ I said. I sat in the passenger seat of a black SUV, alert and waiting for a confirmation of ID. I looked over at the driver, ‘Pete, take us in a bit closer, let’s be ready.’

Pete Henderson scratched his short, red beard, grunted an affirmative and eased the big car forward, no lights on so as not to advertise ourselves.

I activated my mic and addressed my team, ‘this is Carter, do we have confirmation yet?’

‘Hold on Alex,’ Riley came back at me. There was a few seconds pause then, ‘confirm, confirm, that’s Simon Reeves, and he’s going inside.’

‘He don’t look like much does he? You really think that lanky streak of piss is our man? He looks like he’d have to fight his own shoelaces.’ You couldn’t miss the contempt in Bailey’s voice.